Bike and Cycling Forum > Cycling Forums > Gear & Accessories > Pics of night-cycling lights

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 02:52 AM   #1
newleaf150

Liked 2086 Times on 1133 Posts
Likes Given: 4922

Pics of night-cycling lights

I did a little night cycling last season, but various life commitments and problems stopped me from doing all I wanted to, then. Now, I'm in a better position and hoping to log some good nighttime miles this Winter. To do so, I've expanded my collection of lights.

After a very frustrating name-brand light failure, I bought several eBay specials - like $6 each with shipping. They're tactical light knock-offs, powered by 3 AAA batts each. Two are mounted on my trekking bars, one on each side.
mc2_-120.jpg
The third is attached to my helmet with industrial velcro and stabilized with zip-ties. This is my first time using a helmet-mounted light, and it introduces some interesting problems. Think carving one turn with your bike and a completely different one with your head and eyes as you look at the path to come. Very different from daylight cycling. Nevertheless, I love it.
mc2_-114.jpg
Finally, I have a Planet Bike taillight attached to one of my rack's supports. It transfers to the pannier in the event I'm running loaded.
mc2_-122.jpg
More pics to come; I also run a 3-led blinkey on a swivel on the back of my helmet, and a 5-led Bell light on my Camelbak. You might say I'm lit up like a Christmas tree, fore and aft. My philosophy is that more visibility is pretty much always better

I'll get pics of that, and, hopefully, of the whole setup in action. I'm considering ways to try to get shots of the throw of my headlights out on the trail, but it'll take some effort to do so in a meaningful way.