Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > General Bike Discussion > Advice for a cycling beginner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 06:51 PM   #1
mjwassmer

Advice for a cycling beginner

Hey guys, great forum. Had a quick question, would be great if you could help me out. I'm looking to purchase a bike for myself, a beginner. I rode when I was younger (I'm now 21), looking to get back into it.

Is this a good deal? Can anyone tell me more about this type of bicycle? I googled it but could find very little.

Men's Kensington Elite Hybrid Bicycle

He said he would give it to me for $80. Thanks guys.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 07:41 PM   #2
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3116 Times on 1881 Posts
Likes Given: 3252

If that's all your budget will allow, then it's OK. But you might do better to find something a bit more modern. What kind of riding do you plan on doing?

Old 01-13-2010, 07:42 PM   #3
mjwassmer

I plan on riding around town. If I were to buy new and didn't want to spend a ton of money (what if I don't take to it?), do you have any suggestions for modestly priced but decent bikes?

Old 01-13-2010, 07:51 PM   #4
Industry_Hack
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

You can get a reliable, bike-shop quality Giant for less than $300 right now. Avoid Xmart bikes. For a little more money, you should be getting a proper assembly, some free maintenance, and a bike that will last and hold its value, should you decide to sell it in the first year or so.

Old 01-13-2010, 07:54 PM   #5
mjwassmer

Thanks for your help. So you'd recommend finding a bike shop and asking about their Giants? Or is there a preferred retailer?

Old 01-13-2010, 07:59 PM   #6
Industry_Hack
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes