Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > General Bike Discussion > Advice for Pedals/Shoes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2013, 01:51 AM   #1
janderson8710

Liked 14 Times on 10 Posts

Advice for Pedals/Shoes

I am new to the sport/world of cycling and I just purchased a new trek fx 7.3 hybrid to replace my cheap mongoose mountain bike from college. I started riding a lot last summer and wanted a better bike to go further and faster so thats why i got the hybrid as I am not quite ready for the investment of a road bike. Anyway i am in the process of upgrading it a bit and i have no knowledge of clip-less pedals or shoes so if I could get some advice on what to look at or what other people use/like I would really appreciate it. I plan to use the bike for exercise, riding to work, and potentially enter a few small triathlons this summer.

Thanks

Old 01-04-2013, 02:05 AM   #2
omnivox42
TS_MODERATOR.png

Bikes

Liked 2417 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 1294

For commuting I hear flats are nice. Ergon has an interesting set of pedals. As far as sporty riding goes alot of folks will say use clipless pedals, myself included.

I use Look Keo pedals and cleats mated to specialized comp shoes. I personally have an issue getting my foot in the left pedal from take off. It likes to flip down and I can't feel where the cleat grabs the pedal. Lots of folks use speedplay because they are double sided.

all in all it depends on your riding habits and what you do more of, commuting vs. Sporty riding.

don't take my word for it the others will chime in 5...4...3...2..1...

~~~There will be moments of chaos, keep pedaling~~~

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2013, 02:17 AM   #3
rynoman03
TS_MODERATOR.png

Bikes

Liked 2340 Times on 1382 Posts
Likes Given: 3606

I run Richey Whiteface SPD Pedals on my mtb. I use Bontrager Race MTB shoes. I have a review of them in the review section in the top of the page.