Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > General Bike Discussion > Certified mechanic's course

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 03:31 PM   #1
ferg

Liked 35 Times on 15 Posts

Certified mechanic's course

Hi everyone!

I would like to take a professional/accredited bike mechanics course this year. I am a certified auto technician but after 36 years, I am looking for another skill for my retirement days.

I have looked into UBI in Washington, someone else recommended a Park Tool course...

What advise do the pro mechanics here on twospoke recommend? I have to plan ahead as I have 3 weeks vacation and will have to fly to wherever.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance,
ferg

If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up space!

2007 Gary Fisher Hybrid
Cannondale SuperSix
TREK 6500
BOB YAK trailer w/custom paint
Cignal Tandem
Huffy MTB
Cyclops Fluid 2

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 08:05 PM   #2
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3382 Times on 1990 Posts
Likes Given: 3396

Are you prepared to spend thousands on a course that will allow you to earn $10/hour? For what it's worth, if I owned a shop, I would look to hire someone with a natural aptitude for mechanics, and a passion for bicycles. A certificate from a school wouldn't impress me much.

Old 02-04-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
superj
still learning

Bikes

Liked 948 Times on 626 Posts
Likes Given: 14

i went to aviation school and the degrees aren't worth anything, really. american airlines was starting people at 8 bucks and hour. i made more working on golf carts.

i think it would be a hard life trying to pay bills as a bicycle mechanic

1998 specialized expedition sport
2010 trek 1200sl
2009 bacchetta strada
2010 trek 820
2008 giant boulder
1998 gt series one
2013 trek 7.2

Old 02-04-2013, 11:02 AM   #4
Merlincustom

Liked 860 Times on 449 Posts
Likes Given: 231

Quote:
Originally Posted by superj View Post