Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > General Bike Discussion > Road Lube

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
rideSATX

Liked 69 Times on 43 Posts

Road Lube

there comes a time in every cyclists life when he has to stop mooching off his roomate for chain grease and get his own. for me, that time is now. I ride on roads only, though these roads are questionable at best, they are still paved and I don't usually get off them lol.

my question is what chain grease do you use? what should I stay away from? is there anything out there that is just far superior to everything else? you guys know best, guide me! haha

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 11:51 PM   #2
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3116 Times on 1881 Posts
Likes Given: 3252

Depends on where you ride, what kind of bike you have and the riding you do, and how religious you are about maintenance.

Currently, I use Tri Flow with Teflon. And White Lightning dry lube. And Finish Line Cross Country wet lube. And Yelo Velo. I also have some Dumonde Tech I am going to try. Oh, I also have Chain Oil No5.

The Finish Line is my general purpose, since I bought a case for $10, and I use it when building bikes. A few drops in the cable housing works wonders too. In Utah, I see a lot of kids bikes being left outdoors, so an "extreme weather" lube is a good choice. Yelo Velo is on my 29er, and it really works well. I like that it's plant based too. The Cannondale gets Tri Flow for everything but the chain, and that gets White Lightning, just because I've always used it. If I'm working on a bike that isn't going to be left in the weather, and is kept clean, Chain Oil No5 goes on.

I'll stop now. There is no single product that everyone swears by. I think Steak Sauce tried Gnar Lube, but don't recall how that went.

Old 11-21-2012, 12:01 AM   #3
davereo

Bikes

Liked 2626 Times on 1442 Posts
Likes Given: 2656