Bike and Cycling Forum > Cycling Forums > Off Topic > New bike

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 08:47 AM   #1
neilloveridge

Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

New bike

Hi

Can anyone advise me. I brought a vittess road bike last year for £90.00 of eBay and enjoyed riding in the summer.

I'm now looking at upgrading and purchasing the trek 1.5 as a road bike. Just a general question.....is this is a decent bike that will last for a good few years...??

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
zero3one

Bikes

Liked 501 Times on 297 Posts
Likes Given: 292

The 1.5 isn't a bad bike. I have no experience with it, but it's definitely better than your run of the mill Walmart/department store type bikes. I would call it an entry level road bike. And yes, it will last you. But my advise when buying a bike... spend more than you want to. You will only regret not getting the bike you "almost" could have had.

Old 01-06-2013, 01:42 PM   #3
synack
The Back Row

Liked 1283 Times on 814 Posts
Likes Given: 1715

What are your cycling goals? Short and long term.

I think next year will be my strongest cycling year.
I started a twitter account @SempreCycling
Strava
Bianchi Sempre 105

Sometimes a headwind is really a tailwind, and sometimes a tailwind is really a headwind, to your development. Deep Thoughts.

Old 01-06-2013, 02:40 PM   #4
carlharsch
Senile Member

Bikes

Liked 1417 Times on 648 Posts
Likes Given: 466

Welcome to the forums.

Old 01-06-2013, 03:17 PM   #5
superj
still learning

Bikes

Liked 956 Times on 629 Posts
Likes Given: 14

check craigslist (if you guys have that over there) or ebay. i got both my bikes used and have not spent more the 250 total.

1998 specialized expedition sport
2010 trek 1200sl
2009 bacchetta strada
2010 trek 820
2008 giant boulder
1998 gt series one
2013 trek 7.2

Old 01-06-2013, 04:32 PM   #6
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3509 Times on 2039 Posts