You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of Twospoke.com    

Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Road Bikes > Best chainring size for hill climbing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2010, 07:15 AM   #1
retromike3
retromike3
Bikes

Liked 46 Times on 19 Posts

Best chainring size for hill climbing

I have been trying to clime some pretty steep hill in my neighborhood and the gears I seem to have on my road bike just don't seem to have it. I am running a 35 in the front chainring and a 32 rear cog. Do you think that's low enough or am I just way too out of shape? A friend of mine seems to walk away from me when he drops it into his front 24.

Mike

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2010, 04:44 PM   #2
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3586 Times on 2067 Posts
Likes Given: 3474

Mike, this is a trick question, right? Depending on your crankset, you can certainly get a smaller chainring. Without knowing the BCD, I can't tell you how small though. But no one here can answer the out of shape part, besides you.

How do your legs/lungs feel on climbs? Do you have a heart rate monitor? Do you want to throw hill-climbing into your weekly rides to build on that, or are you content to sit at the back while everyone waits for you? Personally, I hate hills. Because of that, I never trained for them. So when I was in my best shape ever, I could kill it on the flats but would get dropped on long or steep grades.

Old 07-18-2010, 08:22 PM   #3
whyeyebike

Bikes