Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Road Bikes > Clip pedal trouble

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 02:44 AM   #1
Ross14

Liked 373 Times on 175 Posts
Likes Given: 570

Clip pedal trouble

Well first of all I'm 14 and recently joined a road racing team. My coach supplied me with a road bike to use before I'm getting mine this Christmas and it has out of date Looks on it. On all of the practice rides there has been this one road that my push off is just not good so I can't clip in and I have to walk it and get left behind. I know that when I get Speedplays it will be much easier but now I have to deal with these. Any tips or advise?

- 2011 Cannondale Caad 10 -
-2009 Gary Fisher Wahoo Disc-

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 03:32 AM   #2
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3482 Times on 2029 Posts
Likes Given: 3433

Practice.

People Like This 
Old 12-04-2012, 05:35 AM   #3
salvage_bikes
Banned

Liked 103 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 162

Looks are still highly prized by a large segment of the road cycling population. I had some when I was a teen. I eventually discarded them after a couple slip-and-fall accidents while duck-walking, and the horror of trying to re-pin the shoes after coming un-pinned while riding.

My advice is deal with the pedals by some tutoring and practice, and work on your other techniques to catch up, like track standing, climbing aggressively or something else to keep you from falling off the back.
And when you get some money, buy SPD shoes, and double sided SPD pedals (Shimano, Ritchey, Nashbar, etc). They are easy to obtain, common, and give you a quick take off.

What are the other riders using? Have you tried the Speedplays?

Old 12-04-2012, 05:41 AM   #4
salvage_bikes
Banned

Liked 103 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 162

re: "clip pedals"
Ross 14, do you mean these? http://www.bikewhenever.com/bike_features/toe_clip_on_pedal.jpg
Toe clips and straps