Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Road Bikes > Titanium vs. Carbon fiber Road Bikes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2010, 06:25 PM   #1
chaco24

Bikes

Titanium vs. Carbon fiber Road Bikes

I'm thinking of getting a new road bike, but can't decide if I should get a titanium or carbon fiber bike. What are the pro's and con's of each type of bike? Which would be better for me to get, I'm 200 hundred pounds and ride 6 days a week 20+ miles during the week, and 40+ miles on Saturday, any legitimate advice is welcome.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2010, 06:32 PM   #2
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 3482 Times on 2029 Posts
Likes Given: 3433

CF is stiff, light, but more easily subjected to damage.

Titanium can be made stiff, perhaps not as stiff as CF, but it can provide a better ride quality. And it will outlast you and me both.

People Like This 
Old 08-18-2010, 06:40 PM   #3
chaco24

Bikes

So if given the choice would you choose titanium over cf? My fitness level has increased and I am looking to get a better quality bike, I'm doing a lot more riding now and I'm even considering doing some sprint Triathlons.

Old 08-18-2010, 06:54 PM   #4
Industry_Hack
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

CF has come down in price enough that you can get a decent bike at a reasonable price. Are you the kind of rider that buys a bike hoping it will last forever, or would you be happy getting a year or two out of a bike?

Regardless of the inherent advantages of CF, it only takes one impact to render your bike useless. There was someone on the site whose Giant MTB got knocked over (in his hosue) by the cable guy, and his frame cracked. I had a tandem MTB with mostly downhill components, rated for 400lbs of stoker and captain. It will be around when cockroaches are the only living creatures.

Old 08-18-2010, 07:51 PM   #5
chaco24

Bikes