You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of Twospoke.com    

Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Beginners Forum > Bike advice for tween daughter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2010, 07:02 PM   #1
jkgramzinski

Bike advice for tween daughter

I am a newbie into road biking (4 months now and training for my first century). My eleven year old daughter is now picking up bike riding and needs a new bike. She is riding her step-sister's ten year old Walmart hand-me-down.

I am wondering whether to get her a beginner road bike or start her on a hybrid. I am worried the road bike may be too much for her and the low brakes, etc. may be too advanced. However, since there will be many times we ride together, I want her to be able to keep a decent pace over distance. It is so hard to ride that slow on my bike.

We ride mostly paved country roads around our house and may do some trails.

Suggestions?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2010, 09:34 PM   #2
TxCyclist
Administrator
TS_ADMIN.png

Bikes

Liked 226 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 108

If she's going to ride around not on the road only, I think a hybrid would be good choice, it can open up her options to different types of cycling as well.

Not a Member Yet? Register Here!

Please help out and answer an unanswered thread.
Unanswered Threads

Old 11-24-2010, 04:17 AM   #3
photosbymark

Liked 28 Times on 19 Posts

First of all forget the mechanics as an issue. They are more or less the same functions whether they are for a road, trail ect regardless of how the work is actually done. The shifters might work a little different and the brakes may work differently, but the act of this hand works this brake will be common to all of them. The feel might be a little different, but the actual procedures will be the same. At 11 she is at a perfect age to start and with very little time it will be second nature to her.