Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Beginners Forum > Buy Local or Buy Online?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 06:24 AM   #1
brellalad

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Buy Local or Buy Online?

I'm someone who has very little knowledge of quality bikes*. Would you advise me to buy locally or do you think it would be OK to purchase online?

Thanks for the advice.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2013, 09:07 AM   #2
rola643
TwoJ

Bikes

Liked 4648 Times on 2710 Posts
Likes Given: 4482

If for no other reason than getting a bike that will fit and be comfortable, buy local.

Old 02-22-2013, 11:21 AM   #3
Industry_Hack
Total noob (& forum admin)

Bikes

Liked 3114 Times on 1880 Posts
Likes Given: 3249

If you can find a good local shop, you would do well to support them, as they will take care of you in return. I can't say I'm all for supporting bad businesses though. Spend some time in shops around you, and you'll pick up on which ones are best. Asking friends what shops they prefer can't hurt either.

Poolie Likes This 
Old 02-22-2013, 11:38 AM   #4
Merlincustom

Liked 716 Times on 387 Posts
Likes Given: 211

LBS. With limited knowledge, you'll get killed on the web. More importantly, you need the shop to fit you. Find the best shop in your area and go there. The more you know, the more you can by online. Sometimes you have to buy online. I called 8 local shops once to find a Park 1/8th chain tool. No one had it, 3 offered to order it when they would place their next order. I didn't want to wait, so I went online. You can't always support the LBS, but you should for a bike purchase.

Last edited by Merlincustom; 02-22-2013 at 11:43 AM.

Old 02-22-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
carlharsch
Senile Member

Bikes

Liked 1412 Times on 648 Posts
Likes Given: 466

+1 to all of the above answers.

Old 02-22-2013, 02:36 PM   #6
kneedrachen

Liked 4217 Times on 2294 Posts
Likes Given: 8716

Your LBS is good for