You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of Twospoke.com    

Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Beginners Forum >

Newbie seeking advice on mountain bikes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2017, 08:59 AM   #1
LeoVSargent

Newbie seeking advice on mountain bikes

Hi,
I am into adventure sports these days and I am planning to buy a mountain bike. I need help since I am a total newbie to cycling.
First I need to clear few of my doubts about cycling. I have never really ridden a cycle since I was a kid. Recently I saw a friend riding off road and it inspired me to start riding too.

So will I need to ride on roads or tracks before I start doing offroad?
What are the real differences between a mountain bike and fat bike?
Will I need a trainer for riding off road?

Also please suggest some bikes which I can start with and reasons. I have a confusion on what a professional bike fitting is. Can somebody explain? Is it really necessary to do a fitting?.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2017, 10:10 AM   #2
retromike3
retromike3
Bikes

Liked 77 Times on 37 Posts

mountain Or street bike?

I would recommend a compromise. I would get a cross bike. they used to be called Cyclocross bike because in the off season bike racers go on short races in the winter on converted road bikes. They had smaller knobby tires and you had to carry them over barriers during the race.