Bike and Cycling Forum > Bike Forums > Beginners Forum > Noob road bike question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 12:37 AM   #1
bigjim71

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Noob road bike question

Im essentially brand new to road cycling. I have been riding a mtb for a couple years, but, getting out on a regular basis is tough, so, I have been riding the streets for about a month and a half and enjoying every minute of it.

I am using my mtb with street tires (2009 gary fisher wahoo) and its ok, but, I am really wanting to get a roadie.

My question/ concern is being 5' 8", 280 and 47yo what would be a good entry level bike for me and/ or what specific things should I be looking at concerning my size? Im in alright condition (but have PLENTY of room for improvement) and have been riding an avg of 12 miles 4 times a week.

I have been looking at the trek 1.2 or 1.5 (leaning towards the 1.5) but any advice will be welcome.

I have learned a bunch from these forums already and really look forward to what will be suggested for my situation.

Thanks in advance!

Old 11-15-2012, 12:52 AM   #2
superj
still learning

Bikes

Liked 940 Times on 623 Posts
Likes Given: 14

i bought an old 80s road bike to try out and decide if i want to invest in a nice road bike. i already had a specialized hybrid i rode for run but was not sure if i would like a road bike.

find a cheap solid bike on craigslist and try it out while you decide what you might want. lets you see if you will like riding in that position for extended periods of time and lets you see things you want to look for on the nice bike.