2009 Monocog 29er Single Speed Cog Change

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by Blazerwolf, Oct 20, 2009.

1. Blazerwolf

Blazerwolf Guest

Question bikers? I have a 09 monocog 29er SS with a 32T crank and a 16t cog. What would be the associated problems with changing to a 42t crank and would it enhance my over all ride or am I way off base?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

More speed, but forget about hills. Your starts would be really slow too.

3. Blazerwolf

Blazerwolf Guest

Thanks Hack, when I got the bike I had no intention of riding off road or down hills so I inquired on how to make the ride better. Advice, change the knobbies for ballons and change out the 20t cog to a 16t. I did both, put on Schwabe Big Apple 29ers (great Tires) and changed the 20t to a 16t. It works great, but the max speed I can get is about 14MPH which is ok, but that 16t cog sure is hard to push on any kind of grade. Don't get me wrong as I am not complaining as I have lost over 40 lbs in the last 4 months. However it would be nice to pick some extra speed and be able to take those grades a little easier. What would be your recommendation?

4. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

Change the 32/16 combo to 40/18, and be ready to do some work.

5. Industry_Hack

I think it's time for some intervals before you swap chainrings.

6. Blazerwolf

Blazerwolf Guest

CTD50 explain please, same with your comment Hack! I'm a new rider after 40 years so todays jargon is out of my realm!

7. Industry_Hack

Assuming that you're in good physical shape, (not heart attack material) you should go out for a long ride. Do a warm-up of 15-30 minutes at moderate pace. Then sprint as fast as you can, trying to go flat out for a full minute. Give yourself about a 4 minute break, then repeat.