Two Spoke Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a single speed bike with a surly flip/flop rear hub. I have been running freewheeled for several months and loving it. I flipped the back wheel to fixed the other night and decided to give it a shot. I ended up riding 25 miles with some moderate hills and now I can barely move. lol. That's gotta be good for ya. I recommend moderation for the first few fixie rides.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I have a set of wheels that I built on the same surly hubs. Love them. I used black surly hubs, black mavic open pro rims, and black SS spokes. They look pretty sweet and the hubs are nice and smooth. Plush... I love them. Even thought I have a flip/flop rear, I have yet to put either a different fixie gear or a freewheel on the other side. Mine are on a Biancci Pista frame with a bunch of other random parts (mostly campy). What frame are you riding?

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
25 miles! Haven't rode that in a single session in awhile.

Just a Surly hub? What's the frame?
I came up with an old Cannondale Black-lightning frame and crank. It was a pretty high end road racing frame from the early 90's I believe. I built up a wheelset with the black surly hubs and some prety deep rims...They're not velocity deep-v's, but I wish they were. I like it a bunch. It's one of my favorite bikes to ride.

·
Registered
27 Posts
First weekend in August, I rode 27 miles fixed on Saturday and 23 more on Sunday on a home grown commuter with 48:17 gearing. This bike is soooo smooth it feels like buttah in the flats.

Did a quick 6 miler last Sunday with my daughter, forgot my riding shoes, so I had to ride in my crocks.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Is it not ridiculously hot in Kentucky? How long did that take?