Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
3M's No White at Night Challenge

I recently met with a rep from 3M to see what's new and exciting for outdoor enthusiasts. During this meeting, we discussed their No White at Night campaign, and how that meshes with their 360° Enhanced Visibility program. Watch this video, and then I'll explain how 3M is working with garment and shoe manufacturers to help keep us safe.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OgKOcyHwu4"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OgKOcyHwu4[/ame]

That's a bit of an eye-opener, for sure. Which is where the 360° Enhanced Visibility program comes in. It's not as simple as a shoe or clothing company slapping on some 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material and calling it good. In order to qualify for the 360° Enhanced Visibility hang tag, a manufacturer needs to submit plans proving that their product will contain a specified amount of reflective material, and it must be visible from all sides. It's even broken down by location and amount, so that you're assured a certain amount of visibility on the front, back, and sides. This approval process certifies that garments and footwear displaying the 360° Enhanced Visibility hang tag meet these stringent requirements. So leave your t-shirt at home, and look for the tag - it might just keep you from becoming another statistic.

[edit] Due to forum security restrictions, I had to grab this Youtube video. The original from 3M can be found here.

·
Slowin it up.
4,299 Posts
Man, that's nuts, I usually bike home in an under shirt (white) or a chef coat (white as well). I guess I'm done with that.

Thanks for the info good sir!

·
Two skinny J's
21,195 Posts
That's crazy Hack ! I would have never thought that! Not sure how I missed this before either...If you can find those hints please post'm up!

·
Slowin it up.
4,299 Posts