Add this to your touring essentials list

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by Industry_Hack, Feb 26, 2011.

1. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

While I was putting together an article on bike/hike camping gear, this winter's storms were catching a lot of folks off guard, so it only makes sense to mention items that can do double duty as part of your camping gear as well as making it into your emergency essentials kit. UCO stormproof matches from Industrial Revolution is one such item. That's them on top in the photo below, being compared to your regular household wooden match.

At 2.75" long, they're far and away bigger than a regular match. But they're far better than any ordinary match. Not only will they still light if they get wet, they'll stay lit underwater for up to 15 seconds. It goes without saying that they're windproof as well. I had originally planned on shooting a short video showing them burning underwater, but my neighbor and his tropical fish put a quick end to that idea. Go figure. Still, we did test them in the kitchen sink, and they worked as promised.

If you're looking for camping or emergency gear, check them out along with other cool stuff at Industrialrev.com. A list of retailers can be found on their Where to Buy page as well.

Originally published on IndustryOutsider.com on 2/26/2011

Attached Files:

2. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

Not a bad idea. Id also consider carrying a zippo lighter. Not the butane ones. Wind can get them easily. Zippos using lighter fluid can work in almost anything. If you are really off the beaten path, never go anywhere without two or three ways to start a fire, at least 2 flashlights and 2 cutting tools.

3. Industry_Hack

I never had much luck with the Zippo. It either leaked in my pocket (that fuel burns skin) or dried out due to disuse, because I'm not a smoker. Great for fireworks though.

4. bikebum1975

bikebum1975 Rat Biker