Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry again for all the questions.

I have quick release wheels and disc brakes.

The fellow at the bike store told me when i put the front wheel on to eyeball the rotor, and center it up between the two pads , then tighten down the wheel.

However, the axle does sit completely down (or up) in the notches.

Whats the trick here?

And also check me here. For tightness, I tighten it down so that the lever leaves a mark on my hand when i close it , but then i check to see if the wheel is moving freely by moving the reflector to the 3 o'clock position and see if it falls to the bottom. I adjust accordingly.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Your questions are fine. They actually benefit the forums, because you're asking questions that people are searching for on the internet right now.

I seat the forks over the axle, jiggle it a bit to make sure it's in place, then eyeball the disc. If all looks good, I flip the lever. You shouldn't have so much tension that it's hard to close, but it shouldn't be able to flip open if bumped casually. When you get a new bike, look for the Clix system, and never worry again.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is it ok though if the axle is not seated the whole way into the notches? If i just put the wheel on and let pegs on each side of the wheel bottom out, the disc rubs the pads. I have been shifting the wheel a little bit so the disc is straight, but the peg on the one side of the wheel is not seated the whole way and i just was not sure if that was correct

·
12,350 Posts
You have a hollow axle, with a skewer running through it, just so we have the terminology correct.