Advice for a cycling beginner

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by mjwassmer, Jan 13, 2010.

1. mjwassmer

mjwassmer Guest

Hey guys, great forum. Had a quick question, would be great if you could help me out. I'm looking to purchase a bike for myself, a beginner. I rode when I was younger (I'm now 21), looking to get back into it.

Is this a good deal? Can anyone tell me more about this type of bicycle? I googled it but could find very little.

Men's Kensington Elite Hybrid Bicycle

He said he would give it to me for $80. Thanks guys.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

If that's all your budget will allow, then it's OK. But you might do better to find something a bit more modern. What kind of riding do you plan on doing?

3. mjwassmer

mjwassmer Guest

I plan on riding around town. If I were to buy new and didn't want to spend a ton of money (what if I don't take to it?), do you have any suggestions for modestly priced but decent bikes?

4. Industry_Hack

You can get a reliable, bike-shop quality Giant for less than $300 right now. Avoid Xmart bikes. For a little more money, you should be getting a proper assembly, some free maintenance, and a bike that will last and hold its value, should you decide to sell it in the first year or so.

5. mjwassmer

mjwassmer Guest

Thanks for your help. So you'd recommend finding a bike shop and asking about their Giants? Or is there a preferred retailer?

6. Industry_Hack

Giant, Trek, Felt, Specialized - they will all have some decent entry level bikes. But since Giant is the largest manufacturer, I've found that they seem to offer the best value. Any good bike shop should be able to help you assess your needs and find a bike within your budget.

7. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member