Alternatives to Bar Tape

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by StormStrikes, Nov 28, 2012.

1. StormStrikes

StormStrikes Member

Are there any alternatives to regular bar tape? Something that my offer a bit more diameter for comfort, perhaps easier to put on and take off for cleaning or replacement, etc.

I had the crazy thought of going to hardware store and getting some of that foam insulation you put around pipes to keep them from freezing in the winter but I think that would look dorky and weird.

I liked it though because its easy to get, would b thicker so more diameter and I wouldn't have to order it.

Anyway, looking for some thoughts and input.

2. davereo

davereo Well-Known Member Tavern Member

Check Nashbar they have an open cell foam bar tape that is thicker and offers more cushion that regular bar tape. The best part is it is only 5 or 6 bucks a roll. I use it all the time it last for quite some time also.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

4. StormStrikes

StormStrikes Member

I tried the gloves, still not very comfortable.

davero, or anyone for that matter, let me ask this; when you order bar tape, do they automatically package enough to do both sides or do you have to order two rolls.

I noticed today, specifically on amazon, only one mentioned there was two rolls in the package. Everyone else left you guessing whether you would have enough or not.

5. Industry_Hack

Should always be two rolls.

6. Industry_Hack

How big are your hands, and what kind of tape are you using now? Also, how is the rest of your setup? If you've got some discomfort in your hands, you really need to consider the source.

7. longjohn

longjohn tall old member