Angry post about music while riding

Discussion in 'Activism / Safety' started by Industry_Hack, Jul 10, 2010.

1. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Ok, so today's blog post mostly came from someplace inside where I keep my anger. But I had to. Losing your life because you wanted to listen to music while riding is pretty lame.

Speaking of lame, I have to switch web hosts. My site has been down five times in as many days.

2. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

How does someone manage to get hit by a train? A TRAIN! You can feel them coming. I don't wear the iPod when around town but when I'm out on the road for a long ride I take it. But I do use a mirror and am fully aware of what's going on around me.

3. Industry_Hack

Good question. But we can't ask him now, can we?

4. Nigal

True. So where do we stand on deaf cyclists? They can't hear ANYTHING.

5. Industry_Hack

But they're used to being aware of their surroundings.

6. CTD50

CTD50 DX's Biggest Member

On another forum, there's a FL cyclist who's deaf, lives with his mother, who doesn't want him riding because he might get hurt. He's stubbornly trying to maintain.....

7. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

I admit I listen to music while I am on longer rides....however, I use a single earphone in my right ear, with the volume just high enough for me to hear the music. I also use an old school earphone (not an ear bud which blocks noise even if there is no music).

8. Industry_Hack

I see college-age kids on scooters with shorts, t-shirts, sandals, and the big headphones that cover their ears. And they look at me funny because I'm in a leather jacket in 80+ temps.

9. CTD50

Have to wonder, whyeye, what kind of ear buds you're talking about -- I've used ear buds for 15 years, and none have ever blocked ambient noise unless I crank the volume past the comfort level.

10. Industry_Hack