Any body own a folding bike?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by funetical, Sep 30, 2009.

1. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I'm staying home due to the accident and I found this forum. No post. No threads. Does anybody own a folder? I think that would have been a lot easier to cram into my jeep.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Does a 1974 Raleigh Twenty count?

For cheap and reliable, look at Downtube. I can probably hook you up with a good deal on one, if Yan is feeling generous.

While I saw several interesting models at Interbike, the Dahon Speed Pro TT tops my list of sweetest rides:

[​IMG]

3. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

A folder is on my "to buy" list but unfortunately it's a ways down.

4. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

Does it fold. Then yes. I've been looking at them and they seem pretty great. Evidently they were used by paratroopers in ww2.

5. hmsolomon

hmsolomon Rookie Wrench

I was an extremely happy Bike Friday Tikit owner. Stolen :-(
    It's a joy to ride and folds faster than any folder-5 seconds.

they sell pre-owned and new. The company is staffed by bike
    Evangelists that live to get you on a bike and keep you smiling.

I look forward to getting my next Bike Friday Tikit (and keeping it locked!)

6. Oneway

Oneway Boston Biker

I test rode a BF Tikit and it is cool. I still prefer a regular, stiffer set up. No doubt if I was sliding from trolley to sidewalk I'd "need" it.

Is it the smooth, flowing folding, coolness or time savings that justifies the 2x pricing over the basic Dahons?

7. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I like the idea because it make public transportation not so horrible.

8. klxdrt

klxdrt New Member

Hi,

Where did you get the yellow tires? I'm looking for sage green to go with my Dahon Boardwalk 7.

Thanks,

HW

9. hmsolomon

hmsolomon Rookie Wrench

Tikit as smooth folder

Oneway,