Anyone here ride a single speed or fixed gear?

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by Industry_Hack, Nov 13, 2009.

1. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Not as their sole bike, but in addition to their geared road bike? Just wondering if anyone trains (or plays :) ) on a single speed/fixed gear when they're not rocking a cassette.

2. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

My "geared" road bike consists of a formerly fixed gear bike with a SRAM S-7 hub in it but I also enjoy riding fixed. Right now it's a huge PITA to swap back and forward from fixed to IGH but soon I shall have a new bike that will run an S3X 3-speed fixed hub.

/I also have a Raleigh Detour Deluxe and a Felt Q720 that are multi-speed but neither is really a "road bike".

3. Industry_Hack

The S3X is still about two months away, last I heard.

I've noticed that there are fixed gear riders that are all into tricks, like the BMX guys, and others that build their rides up as heavy, track-style bikes, with lots of toe overlap, then ride them on the street.

But how common are lightweight fixed gear (or single speed) bikes that are just ridden like regular road bikes?

4. eaton

eaton New Member

Do S/S cross bikes like the San Jose count?

5. chh55

chh55 Drink plenty of water!!!