Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this forum and in the process of trying to get two bikes road worthy. I was wondering if anyone can tell me if bike tubes are interchangable. I have two tubes that are 26 x 2.50 and I want to put them on a bike that is 26 x 2.00, Short on cash so I am trying to use these tubes if I can.

Thanks..Greg

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Greg, welcome to the forums! There are plenty of members on the site that will help you with all your bike-related questions. Heck, even questions not related to cycling. :)

The tubes may fit, but that's probably a bad idea. By design, most tubes fit across a range of tires, such as 1.9"-2.10", or 2.3"-2.5". While some guys use a smaller (possibly lighter) tube than their tire was designed for, in order to save weight, it doesn't really work in the opposite direction. That tube will not be able to fully inflate to the optimum size, and may get bunched in the tire somewhere.

·
Registered
9,936 Posts
Greg, welcome to the forums! There are plenty of members on the site that will help you with all your bike-related questions. Heck, even questions not related to cycling. :)

The tubes may fit, but that's probably a bad idea. By design, most tubes fit across a range of tires, such as 1.9"-2.10", or 2.3"-2.5". While some guys use a smaller (possibly lighter) tube than their tire was designed for, in order to save weight, it doesn't really work in the opposite direction. That tube will not be able to fully inflate to the optimum size, and may get bunched in the tire somewhere.
What he said.

·
215 Posts
Also keep in mind that a slightly smaller tube will allow you to install a tire better, the tube stays out of the way better then a larger tube. Just don't carry that to the extreme.

But the tube in question will work, it's just a tad larger.

·
215 Posts