Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It was suggested that maybe a thread for questions about not only bikes, parts, and service, but also what it's like to own, run, or work in a shop would be a good addition to the board. So, here it is. Ask away!

·
'57 Schwinn Wasp
224 Posts
How do you decide what bikes to carry? I know getting a decent margin but still having great service and parts from the distributor is important. But thinking there a number of great distributors, what is the decision based on--audience size or the kind of riding you are passionate about?

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
That's would be such a tough decision, choosing which brands to carry. I know that with parts and accessories, you can get just about everything under the sun from places like QBP, but I'm guessing it's not that simple with complete bikes.

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
How do you decide what bikes to carry? I know getting a decent margin but still having great service and parts from the distributor is important. But thinking there a number of great distributors, what is the decision based on--audience size or the kind of riding you are passionate about?
I'm sure there are shops that compare margin, marketshare, regional demographics, and predicted top-selling models. Me, I just look for the following:

1. Best colour-schemes. Pretend all you want, but colours and graphics sell more bikes than the latest gee-whiz gadget or perceived race ability.

2. Best value for the money. Which bike has the best frame, components, geometry for my customers.

3. Range. What company has the best range of bikes? Do they only have road bikes or do they also have mountain bikes? Do they have $400 bikes as well as $14,000 bikes?

4. What's my current credit situation with each company?
Sad to say, but lots of shops (including mine) have to switch back and forth with different brands due to outstanding balances.