Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by IanHighfield, Jan 12, 2010.

1. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

Anyone seen this movie yet? I'm going Thursday night. I hate sci-fi for the most part but want to see this thing. Have never seen a 3D movie.

2. coco2

coco2 Well-Known Member

Havn't seen the movie yet, it's on my list of films to see... read somewhere that you have to have 20/20 vision or the 3D effect doesn't work for you.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

And if you're depressed, you may feel suicidal after.

4. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

My eyesight is OK. But on entering the theatre it might be impaired for a Guiness or six.

5. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

Is this because it mirrors every major imperialistic country's exploitation of the natives in world history? Why should that spirit of domination not go with us to Pandora? The nature of man does not make me suicidal. I try to figure out how to benefit from same and not be a victim. Cynical, but I'm not one for changing the world. Too hard. Please pass the popcorn.

6. Engyo

Engyo Bent Newbie - old rider

This isn't necessarily true. I didn't have any problem with my progressive bifocals.

Ian, I hope you feel like you get your money's worth. I am generally a sci-fi fan to beginw ith, so I didn't have that hurdle.

7. IanHighfield

IanHighfield New Member

Engyo, all I've heard is that the FXs are something to behold but that the story is a second-rate, star-crossed, boy-meets-girl drama wrapped up in a modern western where all the Indians get it in the neck. I like westerns so I'm in.

Do you need to wear special glasses in the theatre to see the 3D affect?

8. Industry_Hack

9. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Saw this at the IMAX 3D. Wow, that theater's gonna ruin me for every other one. Second movie I have seen in IMAX 3D, with the first being the new A Christmas Carol. Both blew me away.