Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wanting to buy a road bike for a while now but am not sure which brands I should be looking at. I have a Trek hybrid right now and do like the Trek bikes but I've been looking at some Specialized and Cannondales as well. I'm also a poor college student so I've been checking Craigslist a lot looking for deals... thinking I might find some good ones in the off season. I'm still kind of a newbie so any help/ advice is appreciated :)

·
Registered
243 Posts
Check your LBS for deals on used or last years' models to save money. I know of one person who got an $800 Giant for like $450 just cause it was last year's model and the shop wanted to get rid of it. A lot of places I know of also do swaps. So if you're willing to let go of your hybrid they can put the trade in value towards your new bike. One place here in Ohio will even give you more than what it's worth during swaps, though it's only like 5% every little bit helps.

As for internet bikes, I wouldn't say it's a complete no-no (others may disagree), you just have to know what size you need and what condition it's in. You can either hit the jackpot with them or you'll miss completely.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
never thought about swapping the hybrid out but that might be the best money-saving idea. I'll have to look around and see if any shops in my area do that. Thanks for the advice!

·
Two skinny J's
21,323 Posts
I'm curious, why do you want a road bike?

·
Registered
148 Posts
It would help if you could let us know how much you are looking to spend. All the brands you've mentioned have decent entry level bikes. The most important thing is making sure you get a bike that fits you. The best deal in the world is no deal if you can't ride it.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6