Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was about 3/4 of the way through my ride yesterday when beginning an ascent up a hill, my front derailleur would not shift to the small chainring. I left it in the big ring for the rest of the ride and examined the bike when I got home.

Not being a bike mechanic I quickly surmised I should leave it to the pros. So today I was off to the shop I bought the bike at in February. It had been April since I was there to get my 1st tuneup so not exactly an eternity. When I got to the shop, it was completely empty. Looked for a "moved to " sign in case they just decided to move but none there. The LBS I had chosen over 4 others is evidently now out of business. :(

One of the reasons I bought the bike I did was due to the service I had recieved before and promised after the purchase. Now that part of the deal is gone.:mad:

So I took the bike to an LBS that is closer and have dealt with before and left it with them. I will be out of town this weekend so wont get the bike back until at least Tues. :mad: And will surely have to pay for services that otherwise I would not have had to.:hate:

I have no idea why "my" LBS closed down but I do know that the owner and his associates were very helpful and good at what they did. Everytime I was in there the place had customers because it was also a cafe and catering place as well. I would find it hard to believe it went under due to lack of business.

At any rate, I'm gonna be waiting for my bike and see how I'm treated at this other place. ( I told them my predicament ) I had my soon to be 6 yr old with me and let them know I was looking for a bike for his b-day in about a month (actually test drove one ) so hope this helps out a bit. I dont expect them to just overtake the service agreement but am holding my breath hoping I just don't get hosed because I didn't choose them to begin with.