bicycle carrier for motorcycle?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by snowbird, Oct 6, 2009.

1. snowbird

snowbird New Member

Has anyone heard of a bicycle carrier for a motorcycle? My situation is that soon I'll be in Florida with only a motorcycle as my basic transportation. I'd like to be able to carry my bicycle to different regions to ride there.

2. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

I've seen a motorcycle here that has a trailer with a bike rack. Looks like a homemade job, though.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

There was a crazy guy from South America that carried a tandem on his BMW motorcycle, so a single should be no trouble at all.

4. Industry_Hack

That may be the same guy, the one on the BMW. I think he lives in NoCal now.

5. snowbird

snowbird New Member

Thanks for the replies everybody.

I'm going to try to make one. Kind of a rip off of a Thule design I saw.

6. Industry_Hack

Ok, so I was right. Ricardo is the one that carries his tandem on his BMW. Check this thread on another site.

7. Dahveed

Dahveed Guest

Seen it done

I saw this done in Houston a few years back. There is nothing I know of built for this, you need to build it yourself. The one I saw carried the bike sideways and high on the back rack of the moto. Depending on your moto, you might have to get someone to weld you up something. Hopefully your planning on taking a lightweight road bike and not some super heavy MB. I guess there are not too many mountains in FL ;)

Good luck with this.

8. Dahveed

Dahveed Guest

He carries his stoker on his moto too

This guy really knows how to pack it on his moto. Everything, including his stoker is on that bike. Crazy or genius - perhaps a little of both :D

9. vitapimp

vitapimp New Member

wow, never would have thought of carrying a bike on a moto.

10. Industry_Hack

Oh, he's a lot of both.

11. monogodo

monogodo New Member