Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read a few posts on here about being overweight and bicycling for heatlth and wanted to throw my personal story in and get your opinions.

Right now Ride casual, through the woods and a mile down the road when i ride. I am a plus size fellow, weighing in at 270lb. For me , all my weight is basically in my gut and seems hard to lose.

What makes things a little harder for me , I am a city transit bus driver. My regular work day consists of no exercise other than my 10 to 15 min walks through town or in the mall on my down time.

So far , i have gotten over the sore rear-end and am ready for some longer rides. The riding i have been doing lately has done good to get me started. My calf muscles are rock solid, and I can pedal the whole time i am out with out stopping from fatugue. So I think i am ready to take a nice long ride, maybe 5 or 10 miles. But i have a few questions.

A fellow at work suggested I have a protein shake after my rides. He said it will help regerate my muscles after the ride and also help to curb my appetite. Are there any suggestions on this topic?

And also, for the exercise , what type to riding would best benefit me. I am thinking a nice long ride with moderate hills and with some distance. Until I really get my skills mastered , I am going to stick to the nicer trails and roads. I practice the spinning technique, keeping my rotations between 60 and 90 rpms and working the shifters to keep this cadience.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated to plan my longer rides.

Thankyou
John

·
spin... spin.. spin
1,616 Posts
John,
sounds like you are off to a great start. you mentioned cadence and you are right on, that is the answer not only will this make you a better cyclist but you will be able to cycle longer thus go farther and burn more calories.
i do not know much about fitness... but i am sure folks will help you.