Bike advice for tween daughter

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by jkgramzinski, Nov 23, 2010.

1. jkgramzinski

jkgramzinski New Member

I am a newbie into road biking (4 months now and training for my first century). My eleven year old daughter is now picking up bike riding and needs a new bike. She is riding her step-sister's ten year old Walmart hand-me-down.

I am wondering whether to get her a beginner road bike or start her on a hybrid. I am worried the road bike may be too much for her and the low brakes, etc. may be too advanced. However, since there will be many times we ride together, I want her to be able to keep a decent pace over distance. It is so hard to ride that slow on my bike.

We ride mostly paved country roads around our house and may do some trails.

Suggestions?

2. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

If she's going to ride around not on the road only, I think a hybrid would be good choice, it can open up her options to different types of cycling as well.

3. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

First of all forget the mechanics as an issue. They are more or less the same functions whether they are for a road, trail ect regardless of how the work is actually done. The shifters might work a little different and the brakes may work differently, but the act of this hand works this brake will be common to all of them. The feel might be a little different, but the actual procedures will be the same. At 11 she is at a perfect age to start and with very little time it will be second nature to her.