bike computer?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by chibibike, Mar 14, 2011.

1. chibibike

chibibike Banned

I currently use a ram mount/garmin 60c set up to see how fast and how far i'm going but is that over kill to use the gps considering the weight that mount/unit can add compared to just a bike computer? Do you think if I wanna be able to go as fast as I can go i should minimize the amount of stuff and weight on my bike and perhaps even get a lighter fork?

[​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

If speed is your primary concern, start over with a proper road bike. As far as computers go, get yourself one that measures and displays cadence. Once you have a decent mileage base, you can start working on intervals, where you ride at an elevated cadence for a short period of time, then have a few minutes of recovery, followed by another hard effort.

There is no piece of gear that can replace saddle time for developing speed.

3. chibibike

chibibike Banned

well i've already invested 1300 on this bike and since I go on trials a lot i think something like this would be better for me but i just wanna be able to go at least 25-30MPH on a 4 mile stretch of pretty flat road going my office . maybe down the road if i am biking a lot more on roads i'll get a trek madone but i just started getting into biking. I wanna work with what i have right now and i just want to squeeze what i can out of what i got with making some upgrades here and there and whatnots

Last edited: Mar 14, 2011
  4. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Does that fork have a lock-out knob that you can turn to make it rigid? Also, at those speeds, clothing can make a difference of at least 1-2 mph. Loose clothing flapping in the wind is one way to rob yourself of free speed.

5. chibibike

chibibike Banned

yeah i haven't tried riding it fast with the fork locked.

6. Xela