Bike Computers

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by Codejockey, Apr 11, 2010.

1. Codejockey

Codejockey New Member

Being new to biking in general (at least from an adult perspective), I'm not really certain what a bike computer does for you. One question I have, is can I use my handheld GPS that I use for GeoCaching to assist me as a bike computer since it will track speed, distance, route, etc? Or are there features that a bike computer will have that are necessary for me to understand what I'm doing that my GPS won't offer. I should add that mine is a Garmin eTrex Summit HC gps unit.

Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
  2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Your GPS can be a great tool for tracking fitness, but it lacks two features that you may find useful. At the most basic level, you want to be able to track your average speed over a fixed route. That will let you see improvements made in your overall fitness. If you have a good 10-20 mile loop you can do once a week or so, you'll be more aware of incremental increases in your average speed.

Of course, a simple watch or clock could do that, which is where your GPS might be better, if it lets you review your speed over different legs of the course, such as a climb. If you really want to improve your fitness, you'll want a computer with cadence, to let you know how fast your legs are spinning, and a heart rate monitor, to keep track of your heart rate. This is not just for racers, or ultra-competitive weekend warriors. A good computer will allow you to find the optimum gear to maintain the correct cadence and heart rate, keeping you in an aerobic, rather than anaerobic state.

I'll stop now, in case I've gone way beyond your question.

3. LarryM

LarryM Eocyclist

I think your eTrex Summit has all the functions of a basic bike computer. A basic bike computer provides the following info:
    Current Speed