Bike disc brake squealing

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by wild, Mar 9, 2010.

1. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

Yesterday I had a flat on the front of my Absolute 1.0 I took it to the bike shop for its 100 mile ajust and to get the flat fixed, it has a disc brake. when he put the wheel back on it was making a screeching sound when spun it, so he mest with the alinement of the wheel, all is good he said I rooled it out the door seamed fine. But when I rode it after just 100 yards the screech came back. When I loosened the skewer the noise went away. but when I went around a conner the niise came back. I know there is something going on with the disc brake alinement is there somthing that neads to be done to aline the rottor and calaber. like maybe putting on the brake after the roter is in the calaber and then tighting the lever that holds the wheel on .

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Flip your bike over, and R&R the front wheel. If you still have brake rub, take it back and make them adjust the brake properly. You should learn to do it yourself, but sounds like the shop had no clue. Was it their mechanic, or just some kid on the floor?

3. wild

Thanks I will give it a try tomarow BlazingPedals
    Hack yes it was one of there mechanics. thay like to have it back after 100 miles to check every thing. I thaught I might as well have them replace the tube, as I only pay for parts, I did ride it 25 miles today and the screeching went away for the most part.

4. jagonz456

jagonz456 New Member