Bike elitists?

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by ghostrider, Oct 23, 2009.

1. ghostrider

ghostrider Guest

Has anyone else ever come across people who are bike elitists who only ride extremely rare expensive bikes and look down on anything else, etc?

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Yes. They're called "roadies". :rolleyes:

3. tankboy

tankboy Guest

I thought a roadie was someone that traveled with a band

4. Industry_Hack

Close. They're pronounced differently.

5. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I'll pull up next to people at stop lights and try to say something to them and they'll just ignore me. Austin in general is pretentious though so I've come to expect it.

6. TxCyclist

TxCyclist Administrator Staff Member Admin Staff

I haven't noticed it that much but I've gotten some bad vibes from a few people here and there who ride single speeds exclusively.

7. Industry_Hack

Single speeds, or fixed?

8. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

Hmmmm, I guess I won't take offense to that since I do ride geared bikes occasionally--maybe 5% of the time. Does that mean that I'm a dick 95% of the time?:p

9. Industry_Hack

In all fairness, I'm noticing that there seems to be less and less dickishness on the other site.

10. Michigander

Michigander Member

That can be quite accurate.

11. mikebike

mikebike Florida Cyclist

I was recently touring the west coast on our tandem (loaded) and just before Leguna Beach these too guys in full team kit pull up by us waiting for a light. I said Hello--hows your ride going?? --- they totally ignored us.

We leave the light -- they take off -- terrain goes downhill --- Whooosh we fly by ---- they pass us on the next uphill (expected since we are carrying about 50 pounds of tools and clothes)

This goes on for about 3 miles ... then on the next uphill -- we push a bit and catch the slower of the 2 ---pass him --- and gap him pretty good.