Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
He everybody, I need your help.
I'm am a student at the Technical University of Delft and I'm studying Industrial Design. I need to know a few things about bike lights and especially the requirements for them that people have in the States. In the end I have to come up with a new concept for a Dutch company that wants to introduce themselves in the USA. So can you help me by maybe answering a few of these questions:

What type of lights do you use? (detachable?) and why?

Where do you use them for? (to see or be seen?)

What do you expect in terms of lifetime?

What do you think is a good idea for bike lighting?

Maybe some other stuff that's on your mind?

Those are my questions and I would like to thank you in advance for helping me out!

Jur

·
Registered
823 Posts
Here is an idea.

I would like to see something along the lines of a LED strip(s) that you could wrap around/attached to the back of the chainstays to outline the back of the bike better. This would definitely increase visibility at a greater distance as oppose to a giant reflector or a blinky, for those early morning/winter pm commuters.

·
Registered
36 Posts
As with high-power halogen systems, high-power LED systems have attracted self-build enthusiasts, as top-end commercial products tend to be expensive due to low production volumes. Home brewers can incorporate state of the art technology months or years before it reaches the marketplace in retail products.

·
Registered
35 Posts
It's hard to beat a good tactical flashlight in the 200-500 lumen range and a fenix bike mount. goinggear is your friend.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Why so powerfull?

@ArchTech @Simi

Why use such high-power setups? Aren't you afraid to blind the other traffic? And are a few blinkies and reflectors not enough in a city?

Here's an idea maybe: