Bike rollers or trainers?

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by kourt, Oct 21, 2010.

1. kourt

kourt New Member

I started riding road bikes few years ago but never really bothered to go pro or anything. I've been out with small group of cyclists as well and they told me about the benefits of bike rollers and trainers. Can anyone tell me the difference of the two? And which one should I get? Or what brands should I specifically consider? Thank you!

2. gs46

gs46 Pedaling Old Man

At 55 I'm a newbee to biking and have enjoyed it so much I just bought a GIANT MAG 2 as my winter trainer. Living in Michigan the winters restric riding outside. Rollers you actually balance and ride the bike on rollers, the rear tire turns rollers which in turn, turns a front roller that the front tire rides on. I'm not sure how you adjust the resistence on them. The trainer captures the rear skewer and the rear tire rides against a roller connected to either a wind, magnetic or fluid resistence device. I think roller trainers are more for road bikes but I'm taking a guess on that one. I do know the rear skewer trainers can be used for both road and mountain bikes.

3. whyeyebike

whyeyebike New Member

To go a little further with gs46's explanation (which was very well done), rollers allow the rider to use all those stability muscles they would be using out on the road. A trainer secures the bike, allowing the rider to focus on pedal stroke and not having to worry about balance. I have only tried rollers a few times, and I can tell you that they are not easy to (start off) using. They require a lot of concentration. I use a fluid trainer and I love it (as much as a person can love riding their bike indoors). I only use it on the coldest days, or when its raining out; and I have a few trainer videos I use so I am on the thing for the shortest period of time while still getting the best results.