bike saddle

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by chibibike, Mar 15, 2011.

1. chibibike

chibibike Banned

2. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

How long of rides are you doing now and how long are you wanting to do?

Saddles are really a personal preference. It's really going to be hard to pick a saddle based on someone else's recommendation, but don't think that "squishier" is always better. Squishy saddles usually just ending up with lots of pressure points instead of actually supporting you, especially on longer rides. For me, I've found that I more control the comfort through finding a good pair of cycling shorts/bibs, not necessarily the padding in the seat.

I ride a Specialized Toupe with very little padding but can be comfortable for 6 plus hours on the bike with the right bibs. Also, standing up for 30 seconds to 1 minute every 15 minutes or so can help a lot.

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Selle Italia Flite works for me.

4. SprocketGirl

SprocketGirl spin... spin.. spin

my favorite saddle of all time!

[​IMG]

people are going to debate this possibly but first thing about saddles as Xela said is it is personal preference. the saddle above is on almost every bike i own. road mtb both. when you find the one that fits you, just hope they never quit making it.
    two pieces of advice