Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There are a lot of bikes I always wanted to ride, but never got a chance.

Number one on my list is an old original or a high wheeler. Yeah I know that many of the high wheelers made for a lot of riders crashing, but I think it would be fun to see what it was like to ride one of those first bikes.

·
Total noob (& forum admin)
12,350 Posts
Are you referring to a penny farthing? I don't think you're missing anything. But if you check my Interbike photos, I've seen a couple of cool (and outrageous) examples.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah Hack something like the bike in the image called Size Matters. Taking that on the road would be totally nuts. Yet I think it would be fun to take something like that on a bike trail to see what it must have been like to be one of the very early cyclist.

They rebuilt the Wright Flyer a while back, and only then did they full appreciate just how much Wilbur and Orville accomplished. First of all no one knew how to build an airplane. That airplane would just barely get off the ground. Yet surprisingly the Wrights understood far more than many might have expected. Not only did they really not understand what it took to build an airplane, neither of them knew how to fly.

When they rebuilt the airplane, they got a guy that knew a little bit about airplanes to help test fly it. Though up in years to a point, they got Scott Crossfield (yes the same guy that did much of the test flying in the X15) to fly it. With an aeronautical engineering background, and more experience in more different airplanes than just about anyone alive, and even he wrecked the airplane once.

Id love to ride bikes of every decade of cycling. Some is going to be tough, but I think it would be a blast.

·
12,350 Posts