"Bound" to happen

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by Hazy, Mar 24, 2011.

1. Hazy

Hazy Well-Known Member

Well I have been told it would happen sooner or later. :mad:

As I was nearing an intersection I was guaging the traffic so I could cruise on through. I live and ride in a rural area so 99.9999% of the time this works out well for me. So anyway, as I was nearing the intersection there was a truck coming from the north ( my right ) and really shows no sign of slowing until I get right to the intersection he brakes hard and turns left. AAAAARRGH!!!:eek: I have to break hard to keep from being hit as he is swerving into my lane at a pretty good clip. Being the rookie I am I cannot get my feet undone from the pedals and sure enough I have my 1st embarrassing fall. :eek:

I got up, dusted myself off , then a couple of fellas who saw what happened drove up and asked if I was ok and needed a ride.:thumbsup: One of the things I love about this area is the helping hand nature of "most" people around here. I told them I was physically alright, just a hurt ego ,but thanks for the offer. Then proceeded to finish my cold (40 degrees F is cold on my feet since I have no shoe covers yet) ride.

Nice to get that out of the way :D

Hazy

2. rola643

rola643 Two skinny Js Staff Member Admin Staff Mod Team Tavern Member

Nice to get that out of the way nice and early! Sometimes the ego gets biggest bruise hu? It's good to know there are still those willing to stop and lend a hand...we or I don't see that much in this area. Lotsa rubber neckers tho...

3. SprocketGirl

SprocketGirl spin... spin.. spin