broken front derailluer

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by LosemoneyG, Jul 19, 2010.

1. LosemoneyG

LosemoneyG New Member

I have a 4 year old Giant OCR 3 which needs upgrading. I finally have a good excuse to do so. My front derailluer a sora which came with the bike finally called it quits. My problem is compatibility. Looking for upgrades I noticed that my choices are 10 speed. Will a 10 speed compatible fd work with an 8 speed drivetrain? If not is it worth upgrading the drivetrain to 10 speed or just replace the fd with lower end part?

George

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

There's a good chance that upgrading to 10 speed will cost more than you originally paid for your bike. And the 10 speed won't work with 8 speed, as it's designed for a much narrower chain.

On the bright side, 8 speed stuff is pretty cheap, and super cheap on eBay.

3. AceOfSpades

AceOfSpades New Member

Taken from Sheldon's site: Although he says it may be a bit fussier in adjustment.
    ------------------------------
    7-speed, 8-speed, 9-speed, 10-speed...
    Many front derailers are designated for some number of speeds in back. This is actually primarily a marketing distinction, not a functional one. Pretty much any front derailer will work with any modern chain system.
    It is true that the cages have gotten slightly narrower to match the narrower chains used on systems with more rear sprockets, but this is rarely a problem in practice.

All About Front Derailers

4. Industry_Hack

Paying extra for a 10 speed front to use with your 8 speed cassette makes no sense at all.

5. AceOfSpades

AceOfSpades New Member

Yeah, $20 is way too much for a good derailleur. I'd sell my bike before spending that kind of money!:p

Shimano 105 Front Derailleur - Front Derailleur

BTW, I was answering his question of "will it work?" ;)

6. Industry_Hack