Building a tandem bicycle from 2 different frames.

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by funetical, Nov 9, 2009.

1. funetical

funetical Slowin it up.

I have a couple of bike frames sitting here at the house and I was wondering if anybody had tried to extend a frame into a tandem by merging two or more frames together? I think it's either build a tandem or a tall bike. I think the tall bike would be easy, I just won't have a use for it not needing attention and all.

2. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

This is not entirely uncommon. I think the best writeup about it is by the late great Sheldon Brown...

Home-Built Tandem Bicycles

[​IMG]

3. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Building one at home sounds like fun. I contacted a frame builder that specialized in titanium, gave them my specs (17/15, disc mounts, 6 S&S couplers, etc.) and waited for a CAD drawing. Made some changes, finally approved drawing number three. Flew from Australia to the US with the family, made a trip to the wheel builder, ATC Racing, and Performance Bike Shop. Also ordered a bunch of stuff from that Nutt at MTB Tandems, Alex. After about six months of planning and collecting parts, along with about AU$8k, I had a really sweet MTB tandem. And no, that did not include airfare. The bike shop I worked at did the math, and figured I saved about AU$4k doing it myself.

Your idea sounds more practical.

4. adlondon

adlondon New Member

I looked into this process for a long time. This link
    brilliantly simple tandem bike