Calling all wheel building experts!

Discussion in 'Mountain Biking' started by GrizzlyBear67, Feb 15, 2010.

1. GrizzlyBear67

GrizzlyBear67 Member

I've been doing most of my own wrenching for a long time now. I just don't have the patience and I'm too picky to leave my bike in the shop for several days. The exception is wheel building...even I know my limits.

I have replaced broken spokes and trued wheels with a lot of success though. That got me thinking-what if I just replaced one spoke and nipple at a time making sure the wheel is true as I go a long? I know it's not as good as an expert artisan wheel builder but what are the negative effects of doing it this way?

FYI, I'll be working with Sun Rhino Lite rims, 14G ssdb spokes and XT hubs. They're are the typical 32 hole tripple cross pattern.
    I'm not interested in light weight, only strength.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Are you just replacing the spokes and nipples on an existing wheel? If so, you'll still need to tension and true when done.

And I'm no expert.

3. HandsomeRyan

HandsomeRyan ♥'s Bicycles

I'm about to have a 36 spoke XT hub built into a RhynoLite rim. Completely irrelevant to your question but great minds think [build?] alike.

Hub is sitting on the floor next to me, rim should be delivered this afternoon.

4. bear-hunter-ninja

bear-hunter-ninja New Member

Building Bicycle Wheels by Sheldon Brown

My advice if you are going to transfer spokes from an existing wheel to your new wheel is to have the same number of threads exposed from your nipples before you begin to tension them. That'll give you a good base to start from, usually about 1-2 turns on each spoke for the first round of tensioning.

5. Nigal

Nigal YAY BAIKS! Tavern Member

This is pretty cool. A bit incomplete but cool. I don't even true my own wheels yet.