Campy 11

Discussion in 'Road Bikes' started by Xela, Dec 10, 2009.

1. Xela

Xela New Member Tavern Member

Anyone running this? If so, any problems or complaints (other than the fact that each piece seems to have one too many zeros on the price tag). Thinking about starting to upgrade components on the bike. Currently running Record 10s, but they're getting worn. I guess in a way, that's a good thing, because they don't get worn from just sitting there.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Back in my day, ten was the way to go. Two x five...

3. Xela

But this goes to 11. OK, actually 22, but that wouldn't have been a Spinal Tap reference.

4. Industry_Hack

Seeing as how I can get by with but one gear, I'm not impressed by 11. Even with my MTB, I always felt that eight is enough.

5. chh55

chh55 Drink plenty of water!!!

Yeah, when I heard Campy was going to 11 I had to look at the calender to make sure it wasn't April 1st. Adding more cogs does little to improve, I think the future lies elsewhere. I don't ever feel that the jumps from one cog to the next are too big with my 12-27 10sp setup. Unfortunately you don't have much choice if you use Campy. It's either 11 or NOS 10.

6. Xela

That's the problem, and it's a little frustrating. I would have no problem going with another 10 speed set-up. In fact, I'd actually prefer it. But if I want a new Record group, it's 11 or nothing.

Like the Look, by the way. :thumbsup: I had a 585 and 595. Currently selling the 595. Was a super bike, I just couldn't ever get comfortable with the geometry.

7. Industry_Hack

The answer is simple.

SRAM.

8. Xela

Can't do it, Man. Love my Campy. Have ridden SRAM on a friend's bike, and, still love my Campy!

9. jeepster93

jeepster93 New Member

Electronic.

Those push button electric shifters/derailleurs are sharp.

If money were no object...:D

10. dovitsky

dovitsky New Member

lighter

campy super record is also lightet.