campy shifter

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by chibibike, Mar 30, 2011.

1. chibibike

chibibike Banned

I'm thinking about getting a 9 or 10 speed campy shifter. I hear you can make some 10 speed shifters work with 9 speed cassettes using the alternative cable method but will it work with the campy shifters? Even if I were to get a 9 speed shifter will that brand work with my new shimano RD and my cassette? I just don't wanna get all matching parts if I don't have to.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

I'm not aware of Campagnolo making a flat bar shifter.

3. Hazy

Hazy Well-Known Member

Why on Earth would you NOT want all matching parts that are made to work with each other???

4. chibibike

chibibike Banned

Well if my existing stuff will work why not just leave it alone? It saves time and money. I am not the type to care about having all matching stuff as long as it works. I hear a lot of these things work the same way. I just wanna know for sure that there won't be any problems if I get some campy shifters. I'd like to go 10 speed shifters since i'll be getting 10 speed drivetrain down the road and for now I can do that alternative cable method that bike guy says but these a guy selling 9 speed campy shifters in DC for 50 bucks so i wouldn't mind getting those either but just wanna know if even the 9 campys will work with shimano RD. I just don't know if this brand has a real diff pull from the Shimano brands that would make it necessary for campy cassette and derailurs.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  5. Industry_Hack

Money shouldn't be a concern for you. You've bought the wrong bike, and insist on trying to convert it into the right one at probably double the cost, if not more.