Two Spoke Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,948 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I asked to start this thread for 50+ cyclist, I may as well get a topic started.

In 2006, I was diagnosed with Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia or CML. It is treated by oral medication, which has worked fantastically in keeping the leukemia under control. However, since the CML causes the immune system to be compromised, the slow growing, prostate cancer that was just sitting there, suddenly became very aggressive and began growing very quickly. Because of the CML, I could not have the prostate removed using any kind of invasive procedure and had to rely on medication and aggressive radiation to treat it as well.

My hematologist/oncologist is an avid cyclist and when I started riding, at age 63, he was very excited about it. In my case, the daily rides have actually helped with the remission of both the leukemia and the prostate cancer by vastly improving the cardiovascular system. It also made it easier for me during the five weeks of radiation treatments as I was never really tired or felt worn down after any of the sessions.

Not to say that cycling is a cure for anything, I am curious if other 50+ cancer survivors have noticed that cycling has helped them in their treatment or in keeping the cancer. In remission?

·
Two skinny J's
21,592 Posts
I'm terrified of that. My father had prostate cancer and it's been a huge ordeal and I can't help but feel doomed to have to deal with it as well.

·
Premium Member
9,948 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
rola643 said:
I'm terrified of that. My father had prostate cancer and it's been a huge ordeal and I can't help but feel doomed to have to deal with it as well.