can't balance

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by jahanas, Apr 17, 2011.

1. jahanas

jahanas New Member

I just got a bike but have not rode one in 20 years. I try to get on but cannot stay in balance well enough to get both feet on the pedals. Any insight? Thank you

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Lower the seat so that you can flat foot, and try kicking with your feet to just get the hang of coasting. That's how we teach kids to do it. Unless you have an inner ear problem, it should come naturally.

3. SprocketGirl

SprocketGirl spin... spin.. spin

i love hacks advice but wanted to add a little

when you begin with the seat lowered and both feet on the ground.... put one foot on the pedal that is at about 2 o'clock and when you push forward just step with the bike. do this several times until comfy with it. then try putting the other foot on the pedal as it comes around to 1 o'clock. this sounds kinda strange and may even sound scary but don't try to go too slow. while riding slow seems safer it is tons harder to do. momentum is your friend. i have several friends i mountain bike with who have trouble riding areas that i just fly across. they tell me i am a better rider when in fact i just have more confidence. they fear crashing thus slow way down to a speed that if i tried i would not be able to ride the area either. momentum is your friend...

"Life is like riding a bicycle - in order to keep your balance, you must keep moving." ~Albert Einstein

4. photosbymark

photosbymark New Member

Hack and Sprocket girl are right on the money. Another tip would be to get some help supporting the bike while just practice starts and stops. In a short time your feet just know where to go to find the pedals.