Catbike Musashi

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by altozwei, Jan 22, 2010.

1. altozwei

altozwei New Member

Catrike has designed a new bike, the Catbike Musashi.

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mxld4jJD0SI]YouTube - Musashi[/ame]

2. DuncanWatson

DuncanWatson New Member

That is a very cool bike. A US made lowracer, great rear geometry, SRAM Rival, bar ends, open cockpit, 451/700c (451/622) wheels. Wow, it looks like a nice performance bike.

3. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

Greater lowracer availability in the US is a good thing; right now there's only Barcroft and a handful of expensive European models. That's ironic, since there were no lowracers in Europe until Sean Costin took his MonkeyHandt over there one year for the world HPV championships and cleaned up. I sure hope this model is successful. It looks promising.

4. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

5. DuncanWatson

DuncanWatson New Member

I hope so as well. Having one of the major US manufacturers of recumbents enjoying success with a lowracer would be great. It might break the hi-racer hegemony in the US.

6. BlazingPedals

BlazingPedals Member

Having both a highracer and a lowracer, I understand the appeal of highracers. Cars are bigger here, and height is seen as a safety factor. I don't necessarily agree with that reasoning, but there it is. The one other factor that I do agree with is that they mix better in groups of upright bikes.

The Musashi doesn't look like it'll be particularly fast, but it'll be fast enough to impress most potential buyers. And having a domestic (read: affordable) lowracer available may make more US rider apt to try one.

7. DuncanWatson

DuncanWatson New Member

No doubt that hi-racers fit in better with uprights. The safety thing is mostly fear chatter, subjective not objective.

I do think the Musashi will end up being considered fast due to its default gearing.