Two Spoke Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie on an incredible high, while riding my bike.....but....I've been dismounting and walking my new bike over the cattle guards, when riding close to home. Is this necessary or am I just a protective Mother of her new bike.

·
173 Posts
IMO, that is called self preservation. Better to be safe than crash & be sorry. Most
cattle guards I've been around it is easy to break a leg just walking across them.

·
Jay
35 Posts
I hit some diagonal railroad tracks, caught a wheel and crashed, breaking my femur and collarbone. I would probably walk my bike over cattle guards at this point.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ouch! I can't afford any wrecks. 10 months since two total knee replacements. I'll be walking my bike over train tracks also.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
If you do try them, make sure you hit them at a 90 degree angle and go directly across them. Some are worse than others, but if you hit them at an angle like I hit my driveway pavement a while back you will have the same results. You will go down and I am still nursing a sore wrist as a result. When its forecast to be 107 today, I would not be riding any way. Add one more to the walk them is best

·
Registered
22 Posts
It's safe if you approach them perpendicular, as mentioned above. But walk them if it's more comfortable for you.

·
242 Posts
for the first few weeks of riding I walked across streets train tracks and anything that was not smooth shoot I had a hard time with speed bumps but I've had one knee replacement so I'm extra carful also but now tracks are fine and I can ride up in to the driveway where that little dip scared the crap out of me but now I ride over just about everything but I would not ride over a cattle grade I don't even like riding on payment that is being resurfaced..
how are your knees doing? i'm thinking about having the second one done but not sure yet

·
Two skinny J's