Chain lube

Discussion in 'General Bike Discussion' started by wild, Oct 14, 2009.

1. wild

wild Yesterday tired old man, Today retired old man

I have bin useing T9 chain lube it goes on thin and gets thicker , maybe too thick for this weather, it is down in the low 50s and getting colder. So I ask you what do you use for chain lube and do you go to something different in colder weather.

2. Industry_Hack

Industry_Hack Total noob (& forum admin) Admin Staff Tavern Member

Unless viscosity is an issue for you, I wouldn't worry about how thick or thin it is. More importantly, do you get a lot of rain? If so, how does it hold up in wet weather?

3. Michigander

Michigander Member

I use full synthetic motor oil, unless I'm planning on seeing a lot of mud (I really hate mud) and in that case I'll spend the money on white lightning, or bum some off of someone else.

4. hophead

hophead New Member Tavern Member

I've been using Rock & Roll Extreme (blue) lube for the better part of a year now. In addition to lubing your chain it also cleans it and helps to keep it clean. This will be the first winter I've used it, so we'll see how it works over the next few months. So far, it's worked fine from the low 40's up to 100°F.

This stuff can be kinda hard to find. Due to popular demand, my LBS is now carrying it, but if you can't find it around and want to give it a try, here's their website: Rock"N"Roll Lubrication ... the King of Lubes

5. Industry_Hack

6. frisbeestan

frisbeestan Guest

What about using industrial lube they use for gears inside of electronics thats really slippery and white?

7. Industry_Hack

Would you use it with your girlfriend?

8. hophead

I've found that Astroglide works well in the winter. The propylene glycol helps to prevent ice from forming on the chain (and crank).

9. wild